Breaking up…round two.

What is one of the most important things in your life?  Me?  I have a few but food is near the top of the list.  I love to read recipes, grocery shop, cook and eat.  Well, today I have had another break-up in my life.  I have officially broken up with gluten and dairy (among other random foods).

I had a doctors appointment to get the results of bloodwork I had drawn at the beginning of January.  The results are in and yep, gluten sensitivity (we are still awaiting the celiac panel results). I was also told I have a sensitivity to dairy, the proteins in it, not lactose. So – it has been an emotional day…I’m not really sure why, but it has.  I was gluten-free for a few months at the end of 2011 and it didn’t seem too difficult…but the reality was that I didn’t know for sure that I had to not eat it.  To be honest, I didn’t feel all that great when I didn’t eat it so I just assumed that gluten wasn’t the culprit wreaking havoc on my stomach and intestines.  Well, apparently it was…and it has an accomplice – dairy.  So I wasn’t feeling great because I need to cut both out together.  There are also many random sensitivities I have that I need to cut out, but I am hopeful I will be able to reintroduce those foods once I get my body back functioning.  Interested in the randoms?  Here is the complete list of sensitivities: almond, banana, barley, pinto bean, bran, cantaloupe, cashew, cheese, coffee, dill, gluten, grape, malt, cow milk, peanut, chili pepper, rye, safflower, swordfish, tomato, walnuts, watermelon, wheat, baker’s yeast, brewer’s yeast, yogurt.

Random indeed – a dill sensitivity?  Really?  No more pickles for me.  😦

Oh, I also have a severe Vitamin D deficiency and one of my liver enzymes was high….so I’m being retested for that as well.  So I walked out of the doctor’s office with 7-8 new vitamins, supplements, etc to take each and every day to help me heal.  Hopefully I’ll have some great news in about a month that this new diet is helping get me onto this path of a fully functioning body and a happy and healthy me!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

